Subway, not vegan

A recurring topic in various forums is if vegans can get something to eat at Subway. I emailed Subway about nutritional information( it isn’t on their site ) and I thought I would share the info. An excerpt from their email starts below the “==” line

===========================================
In response to your question the Ingredients and nutritional information for the Gardenburger and VegiMax are as follows:

Gardenburger:

Mushrooms, brown rice, onions, rolled oats, part-skim mozzarella, cottage cheese curd, egg white, cheddar cheese, bulgar wheat, natural seasonings and spices, autolyzed yeast, sea salt, olive oil, tapioca starch, and vegetable gum.

Calories 390
Protein (g) 19
Carbohydrates (g) 66
Sugar 6
Fat (g) 7
Sat. Fat (g) 2.5
Cholesterol (mg) 5
Sodium (mg) 960
Dietary Fiber (g) 9

VegiMax is as follows:

The ingredients: Vegetables (mushroom, water chestnuts, onions, carrots,green and red bell peppers, black olives), textured vegetable protein (soy protein consentrate, wheat gluten), egg whites, cooked brown rice, rolled oats, corn oil, calcium caseinate, soy sauce (water, soybeans, saly=t,wheat) Contains 2% or less of the following: onion powder, cornstarch, salt, hydrolyzed corn, soy and wheat protein, sucrose, soy protein isolate,spices, garlic powder, dextrose, jalapeno pepper powder, celery extract.

Calories 390
Protein (g) 24
Carbohydrates (g) 56
Sugar 7
Fat (g) 8
Sat. Fat (g) 1.5
Cholesterol (mg) 10
Sodium (mg) 1030
Dietary Fiber (g) 7

The above values include wheat or white bread, a 3.0 oz patty, and all the standard vegetables. Cheese or other condiments are not included.

The above information is for a 6 inch sub which is a local product. However, the nutrient value may vary depending on the store’s manufacturer. Further nutritional information on our national products can be found on our web site at subway.com

Similar Posts:

2 thoughts on “Subway, not vegan”

  1. Hey Steve,

    Thanks for posting this. I’ve held these options in the back of my mind for travel, but thankful that I never broke down when traveling to buy one! I haven’t been to Subway for a long time, but I do hold them as an “outside” possibility every now and again.

    I seem to recall Subway having one bread that contained only plant-based ingredients with the exception of honey (their honey wheat, maybe…or something like that) — which some “vegans” will eat. Did your research find otherwise? Then just piling on their veggies seems suitable then as an option….or did I miss something?

    Again, thanks!
    peace in,
    lori

  2. Hi Lori;

    I don’t know. I wrote away to Subway for the information above about 1 – 2 years ago. I got the impression that keeping track of their ingredients and the concerns of veg*ns are not their concern.

    Nice to see you posting ! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *